Joe Petriella

Joe Petriella loses battle to cancer

The village of Cortez and the Swordfish Grill lost a good friend on Monday Jan. 25, when Joe Petriella passed away after a noble and life-affirming battle with lung cancer.

Born on March 13, 1957, Petriella was married to Swordfish Grill employee Peggy Dallas, and a celebration of Petriella’s life took place there Sunday. A fund-raiser hosted by the Swordfish Grill in July helped the couple return to their hometown of Cleveland, so Petriella could say farewell to friends and family.

When discussing his illness last summer, Petriella said “I’ve always had a premonition I’d die around 60. I don’t feel I have any unfinished business, and my bucket list is done other than one more trip home. I’m at peace with God and I’m satisfied with my life.”

From the Anna Maria Island Sun

Published in: on February 3, 2016 at 7:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cortezvillage.wordpress.com/2016/02/03/joe-petriella/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

